Dreams


Dreams

A dream is what happens when people sleep. Everybody knows that. However, there is much more to a dream than simply sleeping.

Dream
noun
1. a succession of images, thoughts, or emotions passing through the mind during sleep.
2. the sleeping state in which this occurs.
3. an object seen in a dream.
4. an involuntary vision occurring to a person when awake.
5. a vision voluntarily indulged in while awake; daydream; reverie.
(Definition from dictionary.com)

A person has around 200,000 dreams in their lifetime. Due to the overwhelming number and the mixture of thoughts, emotions, and ideas, only powerful dreams have room to be remembered. Thus, most dreams are forgotten, and on many days it is impossible to remember a dream. Dreams that are remembered, however, become very important.

A dream can have several meanings. A dream can be a hidden desire, a secret wish the heart makes. A dream can be a brilliant idea, waiting to rise to reality. A dream can be a terror, rising unbidden from within.

I can count the number of dreams I can remember on my hands. Once, I had a dream I was fishing in a brick room filled with water that would rise in waves and crash down on me. Another dream I had a dream where someone hid my cat in a cupboard. Personall, I feel my dreams are an outlet for my imagination.

Image | This entry was posted in School Assignments and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dreams

  1. Pingback: Dream Team | hippyboots

  2. Pingback: Deep sleep and a dream « Minkyweasel World

Leave a Reply

